Metropolitan areas and map view boundaries

The U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) defines metropolitan statistical areas which are used for federal statistical purposes.

Metropolitan statistical areas reflect one or more adjacent counties or county equivalents that have at least one urban core area of at least 50,000 population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties.

The defined statistical areas are used to generate map boundaries for the metro-community resource views made available for recovery resource data access.


Atlanta–Sandy Springs–Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -84.652405,33.561995,-84.124374,33.987210

Center: -84.388390,33.774867



  • Barrow
  • Bartow
  • Butts
  • Carroll
  • Cherokee
  • Clayton
  • Cobb
  • Coweta
  • Dawson
  • DeKalb
  • Douglas
  • Fayette
  • Forsyth
  • Fulton
  • Gwinnett
  • Hall
  • Haralson
  • Heard
  • Henry
  • Jasper
  • Lamar
  • Meriwether
  • Morgan
  • Newton
  • Paulding
  • Pickens
  • Pike
  • Rockdale
  • Spalding
  • Walton


Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -88.391876,41.385052,-87.287750,42.148133

Center: -87.839127,41.767727


Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, Metropolitan Division

  • Cook County
  • DeKalb County
  • DuPage County
  • Grundy County 
  • Kane County 
  • Kendall County 
  • McHenry County 
  • Will County

Gary, IN Metropolitan Division

  • Jasper County (IN) 
  • Lake County (IN) 
  • Newton County (IN) 
  • Porter County (IN) 

Lake County-Kenosha County, IL-WI Metropolitan Division

  • Lake County (IL) 
  • Kenosha County (WI) 


Dallas–Fort Worth–Arlington, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -97.436371,32.558967,-96.653595,32.965467

Center: -97.044640,32.762160


Dallas–Plano–Irving Metropolitan Division

  • Collin County
  • Dallas County
  • Denton County
  • Ellis County
  • Hunt County
  • Kaufman County
  • Rockwall County

Fort Worth–Arlington Metropolitan Division

  • Hood County
  • Johnson County
  • Parker County
  • Somervell County
  • Tarrant County
  • Wise County

Los Angeles 

Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -118.646851,33.672926,-117.879181,34.252676

Center: -118.262672,33.963010



  • Los Angeles County
  • Orange County


Louisville–Jefferson County, Kentucky–Indiana, metropolitan statistical area

BBOX: 86.748047,37.477038,-84.712830,38.781922

Center: 85.733185,38.133476



  • Bullitt County, Kentucky
  • Clark County, Indiana
  • Floyd County, Indiana
  • Hardin County, Kentucky
  • Harrison County, Indiana
  • Henry County, Kentucky
  • Jefferson County, Indiana
  • Jefferson County, Kentucky
  • LaRue County, Kentucky
  • Meade County, Kentucky
  • Nelson County, Kentucky
  • Oldham County, Kentucky
  • Scott County, Indiana
  • Shelby County, Kentucky
  • Spencer County, Kentucky
  • Trimble County, Kentucky
  • Washington County, Indiana

New York 

New York–Newark–Jersey City, NY–NJ–PA Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -74.372635,40.466801,-73.627625,40.987673

Center: -74.000130,40.727747


New York–Jersey City–White Plains, NY–NJ Metropolitan Division

  • Kings County, NY (the borough of Brooklyn in NYC)
  • Queens County, NY (the borough of Queens in NYC)
  • New York County, NY (the borough of Manhattan in NYC)
  • Bronx County, NY (the borough of The Bronx in NYC)
  • Richmond County, NY (the borough of Staten Island in NYC)
  • Westchester County, NY
  • Bergen County, NJ
  • Hudson County, NJ
  • Middlesex County, NJ
  • Monmouth County, NJ
  • Ocean County, NJ
  • Passaic County, NJ
  • Rockland County, NY
  • Orange County, NY

Nassau County–Suffolk County, NY Metropolitan Division

  • Suffolk County
  • Nassau County

Dutchess County-Putnam County, NY Metropolitan Division

  • Putnam County
  • Dutchess County

Newark, NJ–PA Metropolitan Division

  • Essex County, NJ
  • Union County, NJ
  • Morris County, NJ
  • Somerset County, NJ
  • Sussex County, NJ
  • Hunterdon County, NJ
  • Pike County, PA


Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington Metropolitan Statistical Area

BBOX: -75.625076,39.584524,-74.749603,40.280050

Center: -75.187340,39.933170


Camden, NJ Metropolitan Division

  • Burlington County
  • Camden County
  • Gloucester County

Montgomery County-Bucks County-Chester County, PA Metropolitan Division

  • Bucks County
  • Chester County
  • Montgomery County

Philadelphia, PA Metropolitan Division

  • Delaware County
  • Philadelphia County

Wilmington, DE-MD-NJ Metropolitan Division

  • New Castle County, Delaware
  • Cecil County, Maryland
  • Salem County, New Jersey

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us